Are Godiva & Lindt Chocolates Gluten-Free?

With Valentine’s Day just around the corner, how will you treat your gluten-free sweetie? Here are our tips to spice up the most romantic holiday:

With Valentine’s Day just around the corner, how will you treat your gluten-free sweetie? Chances are it’ll involve chocolate. Tiffany wrote a post on enjoying a gluten-free Valentine’s day. You may have noticed in the chocolate section two big chocolatiers are missing, Godiva and Lindt. Here’s the story.

Godiva
While it’s so convenient to pick up a box of Godiva (they seem to be in every mall these days), you may want to skip it. Godiva claims that ALL of their products may contain gluten.

ALL of our products including solid chocolate pieces may contain gluten. Any person with a gluten allergy should NOT consume ANY of our products.

Sounds like someone definitely does not want you eating their chocolate! That said, I found it pretty hard to believe all their chocolate contains gluten — so I called and asked for ingredients for a random truffle flavor. The rep, Maryanne, read a list of ingredients that were all gluten-free. So what gives? I’m guessing the issue here is cross-contamination or perhaps just an overzealous legal department. No surprises there.

But what DID surprise me — they use vanillin (artificial vanilla) and partially hydrogenated palm oil. Both ingredients are gluten-free, but in my opinion, have no place in a quality chocolate. Hey, I’m not chocolate snob, you’ll often find me munching on a Hershey’s Bar (according to the Essential Gluten-Free Grocery Guide, the plain milk chocolate bar is gluten-free), but Godiva charges $1.75 for a single, 3/4-inch square piece of chocolate. For around the same price, I can go around the corner to Artisan Confections and get hand-made chocolate that uses real vanilla and butter.

Okay, end of rant. The bottom line: Godiva clearly doesn’t want you eating any of their products. But that’s okay, plenty of companies do want your gluten-free business!

Lindt
Lindt’s another common mall chocolatier that’s sadly not gluten-friendly due to the possibility of cross-contamination.  Too bad because I can’t help but love a company that’s so generous with free samples in the store!

Unfortunately, at this time we cannot guarantee that Lindt chocolate is gluten free. Our white and extra dark (70% cocoa and above) chocolate products by nature do not contain barley malt. However, because they run on the same production lines as other products there is a chance of cross contamination. Lindt is aware of the growing prevalence of Celiac’s Disease and other conditions. We are sensitive to the fact that these large groups of consumers are unable to enjoy our chocolate at this time. We hope in the future to be able to accommodate the needs of all our consumers and offer options to satisfy varying dietary requirements.

In case you missed it, check out Tiffany’s post on some gluten-free alternatives for your sweetie.


8 thoughts on “Are Godiva & Lindt Chocolates Gluten-Free?”

  1. I was disappointed when I started reading ingredients on those Lindt little balls with the different fillings – they all had barley malt, so I haven’t had those for several years. On the upside, Giardelli squares with the flavored fillings ARE gluten-free and are really excellent!

  2. We were thrilled when in Victoria this summer to learn that all Roger’s chocolates were gluten free. My daughter had the freedom to eat any that she wanted.

  3. Ghiradelli chocolates are fab – I agree! Never heard of Dan’s chocolate so I’ll look for it at WF next visit – thanks for the tip! I’m guessing Roger’s is only in Canada?

  4. Just found out to my extremely painful cost that Godiva chocolate bars are not gluten free. (I thought I was safe with a quality bar!!) Still sitting here in agony

    See’s chocolates, on the other hand ARE gluten free. :-)

  5. I cannot eat all prolamins and glutelins, so barley, rye, oats and wheat (brow) and maybe corn/maize. Probably some other nut or seeds, but haven’t worked out yet. Lindt chocolate 70-85-90% and white with vanilla seems to be ok. And I’ve never found any ingredients than would come from ‘brow’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2010-2015 Triumph Dining