tandoorichickenwingsAbout two years ago I was investigating the natural food section of the freezer at Publix and came across several items from Tandoor Chef which did not seem to contain any gluten ingredients. I called the company to inquire about the gluten-free status of said items and was told that they could not claim that any of their products were gluten-free due to processing practices, etc. You know the drill. Skip to a few weeks back when someone representing Tandoor Chef contacted me about the new gluten-free line-up from the company.

chickenpadthaiUnfortunately, I do not care for most Indian cuisine I’ve tried in the past. For those of you that enjoy it, you might want to check out the fairly extensive gluten-free items that are now offered by Tandoor Chef. When is the last time you picked up frozen seasoned chicken wings and didn’t see wheat in the ingredients? I’ve never done so, but in fact, the Tandoori Chicken Wings are now labeled gluten-free! That is the only offering in the appetizer category, but it’s pretty rare to find frozen gluten-free appetizers of any kind that are actually labeled as such.

For entrée’s, the offerings are quite impressive. Check out the full line-up:

  • Chicken Tikka Masala
  • Daj Rajastani
  • Chicken Biryani
  • Chicken Curry
  • Chicken Tandoori with Spinach
  • Chicken Masala
  • Paneer Tikka Masala
  • Channa Masala
  • Chicken Pad Thai
  • Palak Paneer
  • Palak Tikka Masala
  • Vegetable Pad Thai

It appears from the website information that ALL of the chutneys are gluten-free:

  • Hot Coriander Chutney
  • Mint Chutney
  • Tamarind Date Chutney
  • Coconut Chutney
  • Madras Tomato Chutney

chickentikkamasalaMany of the above listed items are products that I called to inquire about way back when. The items were likely gluten-free at the time, but since the company really could not confirm that fact, they chose to be safe rather than sorry. While I’m glad to see companies trying to be responsible regarding the safety of their products for the allergen community, there is a way to go overboard. I’ve been noticing some “may contain wheat” allergen statements on items that are also marked “no gluten ingredients”. How can both statements be on the same package? If there is a chance that wheat is in something, then it might actually contain gluten and should not be labeled “no gluten ingredients”.

Tandoor Chef products might be a little less costly than other some other frozen gluten-free entrees. The cost of the line was one of the reasons I wanted to check the gluten-free status in the firs place. I was not checking because I wanted to try the items personally, but wanted others in my area to know if any of the meals were gluten-free. Indian cuisine is particularly gluten-free friendly so it makes perfect since that Tandoor Chef made the decision to make gluten-free products available to the quickly growing gluten-free consumer market.

If any of our readers have tried these products, please let us know how they were in the comments below.