Burger King Changes Fry Recipe: GF Status Unclear

Thanks for the photo, TIME

A quick but important post today.

Burger King just changed their fries to a new recipe. Caveat emptor: as of press time, there’s no indication of whether or not the changes include gluten.

This marks the first change to Burger King’s fries since 1998, according to Time.

The new fries will be thicker, with reduced sodium and, “a coating that makes them crisper and keeps them hotter longer,” according to the article. Today, December 5, marks the day that the fries will be available in all Burger King locations.

If you’re like me, the word “coating” will raise some red flags (mind you, there’s no indication of what the coating is actually made of. It could be fine). Burger King’s website has a downloadable “gluten sensitive” menu, which still lists the fries, but I suspect it simply hasn’t been updated to incorporate the new recipe yet.

A note on Burger King in general: their menu includes the disclaimer “Foods and ingredients without wheat, barley, oats or rye. The Gluten-Sensitive List is not intended for people with severe gluten intolerance. Actual gluten content may vary depending upon the supplier, product handling and each restaurant’s food-preparation practices.” Fries, along with several other items, are starred to indicate that they may be cooked in shared friers.

If you’re looking for safe gluten-free options on the go, why not check out our gluten-free restaurant guide? Plenty of listings and even sample menus for national chains and local restaurants alike.

UPDATE 12/6/11: Representatives from Burger King have shared the following with us:

The new Burger King French Fries DO NOT Contain gluten.  However, we cannot guarantee a gluten free restaurant environment and therefore, we do NOT call any foods GLUTEN FREE.

The fries’ ingredient list is:

Potatoes, Soybean Oil, Modified Potato Starch, Rice Flour, Salt, Leavening (Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate), Dextrose, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate to Preserve Natural Color


12 thoughts on “Burger King Changes Fry Recipe: GF Status Unclear”

  1. The new fries are really really bad. The new fries will go over about as well as the new Coke. They need to end this failed experiment and go back to the classic fries, the new ones are terrible.

  2. My son has dairy allergies (excluding eggs) and was able to eat only these fries. Does anyone know if whey was added? Usually fries with coatings have whey. McDonald’s fries have milk in them.

  3. McDonald’s fries do NOT have dairy in them. It was Burger King’s OLD fries that did. They used to use a milk wash on them to make them ‘crispier’. I can’t speak to their new fries, though.

  4. I love the new fries– and love ’em more now that I know they’re gluten free. I rarely eat fast food– but when I want a salt/fat fix, this is what I’ll hit.

  5. Are you seriously condoning the eating of commercially prepared fried potatoes? What about the oils they are fried in? Are those vegetable oils? If so those are NOT healthy and very likely genetically modified. Did you know that potatoes when deep fried become carcinogenic? Yes! Cancer causing. This blog bothers me that it only cares about whether it is gluten free or not but don’t care at all if the food is healthy or not. You need to rethink your mission… At least that’s my opinion.

  6. Aren’t we missing the point? Does BK have a dedicated fryer? If not, nothing is GF. They have onion rings and chicken nuggets that are also deep fried. I’ve never heard BK claim they have a dedicated fryer in any of their resaurants.

  7. Do we know if they changed their frying practices too? So often I end up getting a hidden onion ring in the fries. Glad they are gluten free, but if they are still being fried in the same oil or placed in the same holding bin as other non-GF items it won’t help much. Thanks for the info.

  8. Daniel, as far as I’m aware, the blog’s “responsibility” (well, with no obligation to anyone really) is to deliver the news on gluten-free foods. I, for one, am very grateful that they choose NOT to weed out food on any other basis. Should I be gobbling up fries and pizza as much as I do? No, but I don’t need Triumph Dining to make that call for me.

    And thank goodness these are gluten free, as I’ve already had them about half a dozen times. Ha.

  9. I have Celiac and I want fries, I go to Five Guys Burgers and Fries. They only serve burger and fries, no fried onion rings or chicken. They bread is grilled on a seperate grill by a seperate person. They have good handing proceedures in place. I tell them about my sensitivity and they change gloves and deliver me gluten free hamburger patty and fries, safely.

  10. went to burgur king in bay city mi48708 and did not know anything about the new fries. asked for manager he didnot knoweither dont thay read there new letters or watch the news

  11. The real concern at BK once you confirm they have a dedicated fryer is the large metal bin they use to keep the fries and onion rings warm. They tend to use the same bin with a removable metal insert. Hence one can often find a stray onion ring in the fries!

    Oh, and “L”, McDonalds Fries do indeed contain dairy: natural beef flavor [wheat and milk derivatives]. That’s from their website. Is it enough to make someone with a dairy issue sick? I’m pretty sensitive and they don’t bother me, but everyone’s intolerances/allergies are different.

  12. As with the other person who goes to Five Guys. I go there as well and you can have the hamburgers, hotdogs and all the fries you want. They do not cook the buns on the same grill as the burgers or hot dogs. I bring in an Udi’s bun of my choice and they put the food on it for me and I get to enjoy a meal with my family without feeling left out. Plus the food is alot fresher without the additives and presevatives found at BK and MD.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2010-2015 Triumph Dining