Jelly Belly Recalls Their Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix Bags Due To False “Gluten-Free” Label

By Zach

Allergen Alert

Recently, Jelly Belly released their Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix that was stamped as “Gluten-Free.” However, according to the California Department of Public Health, Jelly Belly has put into effect a nationwide recall of this product because the malt milk eggs contain wheat.

When asked about this health issue Jelly Belly replied, “We found the error very early in the distribution and recalled the product immediately.”

For future reference, usually Jelly Belly candies are “Gluten-Free,” but this particular bag is mixed with products that are not jelly beans, which have canceled the “Gluten-Free” friendliness of them.

Specific Recall Details

Assortment: Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix “Gluten-Free” Candies

Size: 2.7 ounce bags

UPC number: 071567992794

 

Lot codes of:

11111, with Best Before date of January 11, 2013

111215, with Best Before date of February 15, 2013

Lot code 120120, with Best Before date of March 20, 2013


One thought on “Jelly Belly Recalls Their Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix Bags Due To False “Gluten-Free” Label”

  1. I was glutened through Jelly Belly … last year, I believe, with one of their new (at the time) products. They told me that it was impossible for them to have cross contaminated anything. No way that gluten could be in the mix.

    Sure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2010-2015 Triumph Dining