Hip-hip hooray, Hershey’s announces their gluten-free array!

By Zach

For all you gluten-free individuals out there who might be chocolate-covered bakers, sweet-tooth suckers and/or dessert devotees, you’re probably going to enjoy this long-awaited bit of news from Hershey’s. Indefinitely, Hershey’s has recited their “Check the Label” mantra to gluten-sensitive consumers, but, as of a few days ago, they have virtually been able to put that bulletin to rest. Though, for an ultra safe measure, they still recommend a quick checking.

Finally, feast your eyes on the list of Hershey’s gluten-free products that they nicely assembled for the gluten-free community. MmmMmmMmmm! Butterscotch baking chips, Almond Joys, York Peppermint Patties, dark chocolate syrups….the whole nine yards! Please do keep in mind, not all of Hershey’s candies are gluten-free and an assortment of their seasonal sweets contain gluten ingredients – like their seasonal-shaped Reese’s peanut butter cups.

Here’s to a more feasible indulgence of gluten-free sweets!

Also, Hershey’s recently went on the record to issue a press release to clear up the water about the relationship between their index of products and the gluten-free standards defined by the FDA. Below is the printed disclosure that you can find on their website regarding which Hershey’s products are qualified, by FDA standards, to be labeled gluten-free.

“Hershey is committed to providing products that meet your dietary needs, and many people today are interested in gluten-free foods.

A food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticole, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods.

For your convenience, the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten free using standards proposed by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Please note this list is not all inclusive as we have other gluten-free confections. The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.”

22 thoughts on “Hip-hip hooray, Hershey’s announces their gluten-free array!”

  1. Your wonderful article about which of your products are Gluten Free keeps mentioning the “list below” I could not find the list!! I would surely like to see the list so I could make a copy to carry with me. HELP???

  2. Louise, click on the link to the website and you will find the list on the bottom of the page. It’s the orange text – list of Hershey’s gluten free products.

  3. Scroll up in the article and click on the orange letters that read:”list of Hershey’s gluten free products’

  4. Here is the list:

    – ALMOND JOY and MOUNDS Bars – ALL

    – HERSHEY’S – BAKING Chips
    HERSHEY’S Butterscotch Chips
    HERSHEY’S Cinnamon Chips
    HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate Chips
    HERSHEY’S MINI CHIPS Semi-Sweet Chocolate
    HERSHEY’S Premier White Chips
    HERSHEY’S Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips
    HERSHEY’S SUGAR FREE Chocolate Chips
    REESE’S Peanut Butter Chips

    – HERSHEY’S – Baking Bars
    HERSHEY’S Semi Sweet Baking Bar
    HERSHEY’S Unsweetened Baking Bar

    – HERSHEY’S – Cocoa
    HERSHEY’S Cocoa

    – DAGOBA Baking and Beverages
    DAGOBA All Baking Bars
    DAGOBA All Bars
    DAGOBA Cacao Powder
    DAGOBA Authentic Drinking Chocolate
    DAGOBA Chai Drinking Chocolate
    DAGOBA Unsweetened Drinking Chocolate
    DAGOBA Xocolatl Drinking Chocolate

    – HEATH Bars – ALL

    HERSHEY’S KISSES Milk Chocolate
    HERSHEY’S KISSES Filled Chocolates – All
    HERSHEY’S NUGGETS Candies – All

    – HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate Bar
    HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55oz only)
    HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar (1.45oz only)

    – HERSHEY’S Syrup and REESE’S Toppings
    HERSHEY’S Caramel Syrup
    HERSHEY’S Chocolate Syrup
    HERSHEY’S Chocolate Syrup with Calcium
    HERSHEY’S Chocolate Sugar Free Syrup
    HERSHEY’S Lite Chocolate Syrup
    HERSHEY’S Strawberry Syrup
    REESE’S Chocolate Peanut Butter Topping

    – REESE’S Peanut Butter Cups – ALL Except Seasonal Shaped Items

    SCHARFFEN BERGER 70% Bittersweet Chocolate Bar
    SCHARFFEN BERGER 82% Extra Dark Chocolate Bar
    SCHARFFEN BERGER 41% Milk Chocolate Bar
    SCHARFFEN BERGER 62% Semisweet Dark Chocolate Bar
    SCHARFFEN BERGER 99% Unsweetened Dark Chocolate Baking Bar
    SCHARFFEN BERGER 70% Bittersweet Baking Chunks

    – SKOR
    SKOR Toffee Bar

    – YORK Peppermint Pattie – ALL

  5. Hmmm…that’s interseting. They say that all Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are except the seasonal shaped items, but I’ve never reacted from the seasonal shaped ones. The trees, the hearts, the eggs. I’ve eaten them all. And none of the ingredients seem to be gluten. I wonder now…

  6. I just recently ate one of your Reese’s Peanut Butter cup Easter eggs. Peanut Butter cups have always been gluten free so I didn’t think twice about eating this. As you have posted here they are NOT gluten free. Please tell me which of the ingredients listed on the package hide the gluten because it is not apparent by reading the ingredient list. I have celiac disease and this is very disheartening.

  7. I too purchased Reese’s Peanut Butter cup Eater eggs and gave them to my daughter who has celiac disease. I don’t remember anything on the ingredient list that would indicate there was gluten in them. I too am curious and since your regular peanut cutter cups are gluten free, it would be helpful if there was information on the label indicating that the eggs were not.

  8. Unfortunately, Hershey’s has changed most of their chocolate products to contain an ingredient called PGPR–an oily castor bean-based substance designed to take the place of part of the cocoa butter. This cheapens the product, changes the mouth feel and taste–and gives some people [like me], intestinal distress. The cocoa butter that doesn’t make its way into candy is sold by Hershey to the cosmetics industry, for a better price. So not only do I read chocolate labels for gluten ingredients, I also look for PGPR. Sorry, Hershey’s–it’s Dove and Ghirardelli for me.

  9. I called the Hershey company a week before Easter to confirm that their peanut butter eggs were indeed gluten free. Now their web site states the eggs are not gluten free. What is the correct answer? Should I take the peanut butter eggs way from my son who has celiac?

  10. Check the label when in doubt, folks. Most of the seasonal Reese’s products do NOT have wheat in them, but I can say from experience that I have noticed in very plain text “wheat flour” in the ingredient list for one… which particular one, I do not recall. Also keep an eye on Butterfinger seasonal candy for the same reason.

  11. I wish someone would come out with a gluten and soy free chocolate bar, That doesn’t cost a arm and a leg. I have found 1 company, an organic one.

  12. I hate Hershey’s now.

    I thought I’d read in one site that all kisses were safe, and read somewhere else that all one need do is read the label to be sure.

    Well, i consumed several candy cane kisses and then found out they have gluten. Nothing indicating it on the label, however.

    Do people need to start suing these companies?

  13. The list-Hershey’s milk chocolate only lists one size bar-does that mean that the others contain gluten.
    And what about the dark chocolate bar – does that contain gluten, and what size , if only one.
    are the plain kisses gluten-free??

    The list leaves many questions unanswered. Most companies give a yes or no answer – that should be fairly simple, if you know what goes into your products.

  14. I called Hershey and the reason that only some sizes are listed is because only those sizes have gone through the official GF testing process. All the ingredients are the same regardless of size but not all of them have gone through the certification process yet. Seasonal items are usually never formally tested since they are only around for a short time. They are also sometimes produced in other facilities and are sometimes cross contaminated.
    Hope this helps clear some things up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2010-2015 Triumph Dining