Gluten-Free Alcohol

champagne All distilled beverages, a.k.a. spirits, are gluten-free. Distilled beverages with added flavoring are not necessarily gluten free, but several types of American schnapps are. If the distilled beverage has flavoring, you’ll definitely need to check its gluten-free status before drinking. Below is our list of definitely gluten-free alcohol. As you can see, there’s a very large variety that you can drink. Cheers!

  • Absinthe
  • Armagnac (French brandy)
  • Baiju
  • Beer (Bard’s Beer, Green’s, New Grist, O’Brien’s, La Messagère, Redbridge, Toleration)
  • Bourbon
  • Brandy
  • Calvados
  • Champagne (Gossett, Jacquat, Hamm, Korbel, Moet & Chandon)
  • Cider (Ace Cider, Blackthorn, Blue Mountain, Cider Jack, Fox Barrel, Newton’s Folly, Original Sin, Spire Mountain, Woodchuck Granny Smith, and several others)
  • Cognac
  • Frangelico
  • Fruit brandy
  • Gin
  • Grand Marnier
  • Grappa
  • Grenadine
  • Jägermeister
  • Kahlua
  • Kirschwasser
  • Margarita (the traditional blend of tequila, triple sec, salt, and lime)
  • Martini (the traditional blend of gin and vermouth) or Vodka Martini
  • Mead
  • Ouzo
  • Pisco
  • Port Wine
  • Rum
  • Sherry
  • Southern Comfort
  • Tequila
  • Triple Sec
  • Vermouth
  • Vodka
  • Whisky
  • Wine

For questions about specific products, check out Gluten Free Drinks —Mike wrote letters to several companies and posted their answers on his website.

When it comes to gluten free alcohol, what’s your preference?

89 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Alcohol”

  1. Bailey’s Irish cream is not gluten free. the irish whiskey they use has gluten in it accordint to the website. St brendans irish creme is GF though

  2. Hi Melissa,

    Thanks for the catch. Just to be safe, we’ve pulled Bailey’s from the list. But, if you read their comment closely they talk about GF status *before* distillation. The status *after* distillation is what’s really relevant (and it’s pretty well established that gluten proteins no longer exist after distillation. That said, I don’t think it’s wise to second guess the info companies report. If they report it has gluten, that’s what I’ll base my decisions on. There are so many alcohols out there that I’m happy to skip the Bailey’s and drink one from a company willing to give me more useful information.

    For what it’s worth, it looks like Bailey’s used to report they were gluten free. Check out this link:


  3. I thought Tequilla was gluten free. In the CSA Gluten Free listing agave is a safe ingredient.

    I’m a new Celiac Sprue and I’m confused.

  4. What are names of gluten-free sherries?
    Are the following gluten-free:

    Danzka Vodka
    Doornkatt German Snapps
    Akvavit (Aquavit)
    Aalborg Akvavit
    Linie Aquavit
    Jokaj wine
    Botrytis wine
    Isreal wines and liquor products

  5. The website listed above ( list a lot of gluten-free alcohol, including Jack Daniels Bourbon. The science proving that the distillation process removes gluten is a few years old now. Both Dr. Fasano, Dr. Green, Shelley Case and every other celiac expert around the world agrees on the issue. It’s unfortunate that people did without their favorite beverages when they were actually gluten-free for so long.

    I’ve not found a tequila to contain gluten to date but that doens’t mean one doesn’t exist. Refer to or purchase the GF Alcohol Guide from for product information.

  6. I make the world’s greatest cookies which are gluten-free, virtually sodium free and mostly organic. I can’t have a website due to my home certification status. I’d like to use single malt scotch in my cookies but was warned that the gluten-free status can vary from batch to batch of scotch.. Is this true? Since Irish Whiskey is triple distilled is it gluten-free? Also Europeans use wheat for caramel coloring making their flavored licquors not gluten-free.

  7. Triple distilled whiskey would be considered gluten-free. Caramel coloring in some countries can contain gluten. It is considered gluten-free in the U.S., since manufacturers here make caramel with corn. Some alcohols made in the U.S. have flavors added after the distillation process that renders the product gluten-free, but not those with added caramel.

  8. Bourbon should be distilled and if so, it is considered gluten-free. The conflicting info you’re finding it due to people repeating old outdated, untrue information. I’ve not heard of Bourbon with flavors added but that would be the only way gluten could be added back into it.

    To check on specific brands, you might look up

  9. Cheaper alcohols are often grain alcohol flavored to mimic the one desired. Although all of these may have varieties that ARE gluten free, there will likely be many varieties that are NOT gluten free.

  10. I’m unclear on commercial wines – I’ve seen one site that said wines containing sulfites (all commercially-produced wine!) were off-limits to celiacs. Is this accurate?


    1. Yes Jameson is gluten free and is therefore suitable for a celiac to drink. This is because the distillation removes any residual cereal protein. Also, no wheat paste is used in sealing our barrels.

  11. I’ve never heard of a problem with wine not being gluten free, and know many gluten free people who regularly enjoy wine. Tekla, could you point us to the site where you got that info?

  12. I can tell you with absolute certainty that there is some kind of gluten in Bailey’s Irish Cream. I’ve had reactions to it myself. I switched to St. Brendan’s Irish Cream, which tastes the same, is cheaper, and the company can guarantee me that it *is* gluten-free.

    As for wine, some people have reported reactions to some Australian wines. It’s been reported that they are treated with hydrolyzed wheat gluten. As a result, I stay away from Australian wines. Here is a website where it is discussed:

    Some sherries are reportedly coloured with caramel colouring derived from wheat, so they should always be checked before consumption.

    Also, it should be noted that wine coolers are NOT gluten-free.

  13. Can anyone please suggest a brand of marsala which is gluten free. I have a recipe book with chicken and veal marsala but I have been unable to find a marsala which is gluten free.

  14. I’ve not heard of a marsala wine that contains gluten. Maybe you can check on and see if they list any marsalas on the site. The alcohol products that are gluten-free will not be labeled that way except for beer and ciders that are made for our market.

  15. I’ve heard that all sakes are gluten-free. Is that true? Does it depend on the brand? I read once that TY KU Sake is gluten-free but I’ve been too afraid to add sake to my diet to try any of the them.

  16. Wanda to answer your question, yes sake is gluten free. It is rice derived and unless it is flavored with something that is not gluten free it is a safe choice, enjoy!

  17. Not all Vodkas are gluten free. In fact most are made with grains. You really have to watch for the organic Vodkas that are made with corn or potatoes.

  18. If anyone has a list or a couple of suggestions on gluten free vodka, this would be greatly appreciated. Reply to [email protected] Your time and efforts would be sooo appreciated. Thank You

  19. I just don’t get it?!?!? Why is it that when ever I drink a “distilled” beverage such as Vodka, Bourbon or Scotch I get the same contamination reaction as if I ate Gluten – I lose my vision, can’t move the right side of my body, all severe neurological issues. Is it because the classification for “Gluten free” means that it has to be below a certain level. When I stick to Potato Vodka and other clearly safe drinks I am fine. It is frustrating and hoping some of you might have a little insight…

  20. I can’t explain why distilled alcohols bother some people but obviously, if they do, just avoid them. Smirnoff vodkas are corn based and gf, according to the company. However, Grey Goose is made with wheat and is also said to be gluten-free, due to the distillation process. Almost all wine coolers do contain barley malt so they are off limits – same for things like Mike’s Hard Lemonade.Those are also made with barley malt. Shelley Case goes into detail about distilled alcohol and how they are gluten-free in her must have book ( I’m so glad I read her book shortly after my dx. I believe so much that was untrue until I got her book and got the real truth about what is and is not gluten-free. I still refer to the book today, over four years later.

  21. There is an excellent Polish vodka named Luksusowa that is made from potatoes. I have celiac in the form of dermatitis herpeteformis and itch like crazy if I drink Smirnoff but the Polish vodka works just fine!!!!

  22. from what i hav learned, being ‘glutoned’ in any capacity is still causing damage, and increasing risks of you know whats later in life, the more hits you have the more likeley. Even if symptons not registered by the brain or otherwise. genetically modified, distilled, or ‘removed’ are still made from what our bodies now read as poison, i personally am not prepared to risk distillation processes on my life span! Apple and pear zydur and vegan wine for i.

  23. Whiskey is NOT gluten free!!!!!

    Whisky (Scots English) or whiskey (Irish English) is a type of alcoholic beverage distilled from fermented grain mash. Different grains are used for different varieties, including BARLEY, MALTED BARLEY,rYE, MALTED RYE, WHEAT, and maize (corn). Whisky is aged in wooden casks, made generally of white oak, except that in the United States corn whiskey need not be aged.
    i don’t know much about corn whiskey though…

  24. Hey all, just a couple of comments. First of all, vodka martinis are NOT gluten free unless they are one of a handful of vodkas which are made from potatoes or fruit. Secondly, isn’t Southern Comfort distilled from whiskey which is also NOT gluten free.

  25. It says on here that vodka is gluten free, but alot of it is distilled from grains. Check your vodka labels. I know that Ciroc is gluten free

  26. I think some of you are overlooking what the author is saying and what the companies are saying. Because these alcohols are DISTILLED, that removes the gluten from the product. That does not mean the product was not made from wheat, rye, barley, etc.

    If you have had a reaction to a product, don’t drink it again. Just as you wouldn’t eat french fries when they’ve given you problems before. It would be nice if the companies actually listed what the alcohol was made of on an ingredient’s label like is required on food or took the leap and included “gluten free” on the label. I have a feeling that’s a few years off though.

  27. Also just to throw this out there some people who have a gluten allergy may also have a wheat allergy or wheat intolerance. So even if it is gluten free you could still react to the wheat portion. Distillation does not do anything to change this particular allergen. Just thought you might want to know.

  28. Supposedly, the distillation process kills the gluten, therefore making DISTILLED spirits gluten-free, regardless of what they’re made of – barley, wheat, oats, rye, etc.

    I’ve only been officially diagnosed with Celiac for a few weeks, but my dad has had it for years & his nutritionist said that if it’s distilled (more times through the distillation process, EVEN BETTER), it should be safe & he’s got one of the most sensitive cases of Celiac, where any gluten causes a reaction within 30 minutes.

    Another safe drink is the Arbor Mist “wines”. They list their ingredients on the bottles.

  29. Woodchuck Hard Cider from Vermont is Gluten-free, 53 years with Celiac, I also have Barretts. Enjoy !

  30. I’m a little shocked by this post. A lot of people who are celiacs can trigger their immune system to attack their tissue with even a few molecules of gluten. And you’re telling them that products made from wheat are GUARANTEED safe for them as long as they are distilled properly. Are you aware of the studies that have tested these supposed gluten free alcohols only to find they still have traces of gluten? Did you know that wine that has been aged in a traditional barrel is most likely contaminated with wheat because they use a glue made from wheat to seal the barrels? In my expert opinion as a nutritionist and a celiac, if you are celiac you cannot play with fire. And just because you don’t “feel” a reaction doesn’t mean your immune system is not attacking your other organs in your body. Celiac disease is an autoimmune condition that mostly affects the neurological system. If you don’t know with 100% certainty that any food has been tested and certified gluten free, then you should not deem it as safe. Although I respect Triumph for helping raise awareness about Gluten Sensitivity, this post makes me think less highly of their work. If you are dedicating yourself to helping people prevent the progression of autoimmune gluten sensitivity and celiac disease, then you should take it more seriously. For example, are the factories where these products are made dedicated gluten free facilities? Then you can NOT say they are safe, I’m sorry.

  31. Thank you. People will always try to push the envelope to test exactly how close they can get to the fire. On behalf of all Celiac’s who take their health seriously, a great big thank you to someone who actually cares enough to speak and know the truth. I have done my own research and these are exactly the conclusions that I have come to based on educated sources. Every day is a battle of elimination. Still trying to get gluten free after more than five years. Hedgy information is never appreciated and is not beneficial.

  32. I have a question. First, thanks for publishing the list. I know that there are vodkas that are made of wheat. Am I to assume that they are NOT gluten free because of that fact. The reason why I ask is because I frequent Mongolia and they have a vodka by the name of Chinngis Khaan that is made of wheat. BTW, if you are wondering about the name, the spelling is correct. We English speakers have spelt and pronounced it wrong for ages. Its not Ghengis Khan but Chinngis Khaan. Thanks for the reply. Tschuss.

  33. I disagree with this list. As a longtime celiac, and someone who is not OVERLY sensitive–I have found that many alcohols bother me. Most notably, whiskey, vodka and gin. These alcohols are derived from grain and still may have subtle amounts of gluten and other things toxic to the gluten sensitive individual. In addition, there may be colorings and other additives that compound the problem. Safe alcoholic beverages include: rum (from sugar cane), all potato vodka like Chopin, wine, champagne, and brandies. Other than that, drink at your own risk–you may end up nursing a 3 day hangover from even a small amount of the other liquers on this list.

  34. Not all vodka is gluten free like the list suggests. Most vodka is made from wheat, so you will need to drink Potato Vodka. Brands like Citron, Tito’s and Luksusowa are some of the gluten free choices.

  35. I’m going on 7 years of doing my best to stay gluten free. When it comes down to it anything that has come in contact,even the dust of, anything containing gluten it is not gluten free. My understanding the label can not say gluten free unless it is made in a devoted gluten free facility. Thats why there are labels like no gluten ingredients and no gluten added. Try Titos vodka. Its made in Texas and done right.And there is always grape vodka like Ciroc .Very smooth stuff. And most common cheaper tequila is not gluten free. Look for made with 100 percent agave. Its for sure gluten free.

  36. lol, I tried to create a Summer Ale however it didn’t com out that good. Anyone know a fantastic Summer Ale brew that’s nice and light from a fantastic organization?

  37. Wow – lots of bad info being repeated here. I am in the business of producing alcohol. No matter what the base alcohol is derived from – grains, fruits, starches etc.. Distilation romoves the volotile compounds from this base. Alcohols, aldahydes, esters etc.. proteins (gluten) CANNOT be distilled. Wine is fine, beer is not. Distilled spirits, if clear and not sweet like vodka and gin are GF.
    What I am unclear of is the caramel color added to almost every “brownish” distilate such as bourbons and whiskeys and some tequillas. these products traditionally pick up their color from oak barrels but caramel color is OFTEN added to maintain consistancy within the brand.
    We realy need a non profit org who tests all products.

  38. So what exactly is safe to drink when out at pubs and bars? Because I highly doubt the places will use potato vodka and it’s not like you’ll be allowed to take your own with you..
    Smirnoff is deprived from corn, so why is it not safe to drink?
    I don’t really like beer so GF beer is out of the question for me, does anyone know about alcopops such as WKD and VK’s? I recently emailed the companies and their reply was that they were intact GF but it’s not always safe to trust them! In an email from Smirnoff it stated that their smirnoff ices were GF but they are cloudy so they would most likely contain barley wouldn’t there? I’m confused! :/

  39. Just recently diagnoised gluten sensitive. Indeed distillation insures gluten not present in end product unless purposely added. So lean towards distilled products if you want to drink alcohol. If you are afraid, drink water.

  40. Not all vodka is gluten free, it was originally all made from potato but that is not the case anymore – for example Svedka is made from Sweedish winter wheat. Chopin is the best I’ve found so far, guaranteed free of contamination.

  41. STOP! Read all previous posts before posting more incorrect information. The distillation process removed the gluten protein; therefore, unless something containing gluten was added after distillation, ALL distilled alcohols are GF. Stop saying that a wheat-based vodka has gluten. It is scientifically impossible.

  42. Not true on the wine. I am a celiac and I definitely TERRIBLE reaction to red wine. It was so bad I was too swollen for Thanksgiving dinner. Did some research, and some red wines are GF, and some are not. Red wine is either clarified using animal proteins or wheat gluten… so vegetarian wines are NOT gf. Also, wine aged in wooden barrels are often not gf because of a wheat treatment used on the inside of the barrels so that wine won’t leak.

  43. I agree with Dan Fuqua, please read the previous post before posting anymore monologues about distilled alcohol containing various grains. The only serious opposition to this argument came from Daniel (the nutritionist).
    As to the question of knowing if she or he is right about the possibilities of hermetic alambic being contaminated because there’s glutten nearby, I think it’s a slight possibility.
    If, by playing with fire, you’re refering to eating food that didn’t come EXCLUSIVELY from glutten-free facilities, so yes distilled alcohol is dangerous.
    But I don’t think it is doable eveywhere to eat food coming exclusively from glutten-free facilities. Even if you manage to fonction on a poorly varied diet, it is a lost battle. The kind of molecular contamination you’re refering to is possible even in a glutten-free facility. In theory there is no contamination,but think of all the different human factors that play into the equations. Even if (and it’s surely not always the case) the facility’s employees are sensibilized to the risks of contamination, they can contaminate the facility accidentaly. What about the guy who comes to repair a meet slicer? Do you honestly think he refrain from eating toast because this morning he’s going to a GF facility.
    Before being diagnosed with celiac disease, I’ve been struggling for years with lethal allergies to certain foods. Anaphylaxis is way more difficult to wave away with wishfull thinking than tissu damage.
    What Daniel is proposing is more severe than what we do to avoid allergenes with mortal issues. It’s goes beyond simple crossed contamination.
    I think we have to live with the GF garantees offered by most distilled alcohol products, the same way I trust the steaks at the groocery to be GF if there isn’t some sauce or byproduct on it.

  44. Although it is true that the distillation process removes solid gluten proteins, if you are allergic to wheat based products you should still refrain. Celiac bodies are not only reacting to the gluten protein, but are recognizing all wheat based molecules as poisons. This is why some of us react from anything that is made with ingredients that originally contained gluten. If you were to rub a wheat stalk on my arm I’d break out into a rash, eventhough there is no way those gluten proteins have reached my colon. This goes beyond a measure of gluten proteins. Gluten free should only be used to describe products that have not been made with gluten containing ingredients, period. The rest can be called gluten-low. If this was a shrimp or peanut allergy no one would be arguing over the distillation process.

  45. Great put up, very informative. I wonder why the opposite specialists of this sector do not notice this. You must proceed your writing. I am sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!|What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & assist different customers like its aided me. Good job.

  46. I’ve tried a few gf beers and smirnoff vodka and found them ok in moderation. Although the information I’ve read has left me confused.

  47. Hey, I know your posting is a few years old, but I just wanted to let you know that is not working, which is unfortunate. Sounds like it had some good info.

  48. Has anyone had a delayed reaction to gluten? I find that I may not react to something in a day or two. This makes it difficult to identify the problem. My reaction is strictly intestinal. I don’t get rashes. Do anyone know brand names of potato vodka?

  49. No proteins can pass through the distillation process. Distilled alcohol is Gluten Free no matter what is was made from. Its a proven process that apparently people like injecting their opinions into and that just confuses people more.
    – Fermentation carries solids. Distillation does not.

  50. Can I simply say what a reduction to find someone who truly is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know how to deliver an issue to mild and make it important. Extra folks need to learn this and perceive this side of the story. I cant consider youre no more fashionable since you definitely have the gift.

  51. It is perfect time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this publish and if I could I wish to suggest you some attention-grabbing things or suggestions. Perhaps you can write subsequent articles regarding this article. I want to read more issues approximately it!

  52. Hey. Whisky is not gluten free? You write that tequila is gluten free, but only certain brands are? Some that are 100% agave are “ok”, but from experience I still feel sluggish days after drinking it.

    Please be more specific or stop posting things that are so vague. Unless you have a 500% positive source that can really guarantee it is gluten free leave it out of the equation. People whom are sensitive cannot have a lot of the things you listed. You are giving away wrong information, and it may affect people who think it is ok. No wonder people are left in the dark, when everybody post mixed things about the same products…

    7 years of my life has felt like a dream and have been far from enjoyable because of gluten. Dont step into the same puddle and be careful. Be clear of the sources and take action yourself to find out what is good for you or not. It is different for EVERY person.

    We are better off not taking any chances and just trust our own trial and error to find what works best.

  53. Any wine aged in an French Oak barrel is “not” gluten free. French Oak barrels are sealed with a flour and water paste. We found out the hard way. Sorry.

  54. I STRONGLY disagree with the premise that all distilled spirits are gluten free. We discovered my gluten intolerance largely because of the effects of gluten in Vodka (in a Martini), which was not gluten free. I’ve since switched to potato and rice vodka, without any problems at all.

    For best results, check the manufacturer’s website before imbibing any spirit to ensure it’s in the clear. Making the mistake of drinking a gluten-laced drink can be devastating, even deadly. Be safe.

    – Evan

  55. Just because it has been distilled doesn’t mean that it is gluten free. I still had reactions from a distilled alcohol.

  56. The original post is from back in 2009, and very out of date.

    In today’s gluten free alcohol ruling it MUST be absolutely grain free to be called or labeled glutenfree! It doesn’t matter if it’s 20ppm, 10ppm, 5ppm or even 0ppm if it is made from a gluten containing grain.

    I am very excited about the ruling the TTB agency has made! It is headed in positive direction for those needing a gluten free diet or for those with celiac disease. It also helps those newly diagnosed to not be confused with what us or isn’t gluten free. Now if we could just get our foods to be labeled lower than 20ppm, and recognized by the FDA with a written law to have safer food that would be fantastic!!

    You can read more here ->

  57. I’ve read that the reason reactions still occur after distillation is because the ‘mash’ is added back to provide more flavor, thus, contaminating it all over again.

  58. I find that sparkling wine, cavas, and champagnes agree with me. I noted some comments above – thank you – regarding the sealing of French oak barrels with flour and water and had no idea about that, so thanks for that info! Wine bottles in Australia contain label information about the fining process (eg with milk or fish) – but I have never seen wheat mentioned. Regarding spirits, regardless of the distillation process, I definitely react to gin and many vodkas, including flavoured vodkas, but I recently found an Australian vodka made from grapes that I use in punches and cocktails at home – it’s called Vodka O. Smooth. Not expensive. I now avoid drinking vodka when I am out and stick to something like sparkling wine. I have also read elsewhere that flavourings – including grain-based products – can be added to whiskies and other spirits after the distillation process. I avoid them. I have read that if you need to follow a ‘LOW-FODMAP’ diet (and maybe some of us are also sensitive to ‘FODMAPs’), then you should avoid agave and therefore tequila.

  59. I know for sure because I have done research and I drink only this wine, Cavit Pinot Grigio is safe. They do not use the wheat paste on their barrels. I’ve asked them. I will only buy this wine because I know it won’t cause me any problems.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *