Need a refresher on the gluten free diet? These grains are safe: rice, soy, corn, potatoes, tapioca, buckwheat, arrowroot, amaranth, millet, quinoa, sorghum and teff. When plain, you can also eat: fruits, vegetables, milk, meat, eggs, beans, oil, wine and distilled alcohols like vodka and gin.

As for what’s off limits, “no wheat, rye, barley and (mainstream) oats” in practice means, no (wheat) flour, pasta, croutons, bread, cookies, and “hidden” gluten sources like soy sauce, beer, and licorice. (But don’t despair, there ARE specialty gluten free versions of these products available!) Beyond these basics, even the most experienced shopper can be stumped by mysterious ingredients like “guar gum.”

The ingredient list below is for products manufactured and labeled for sale in the United States. We hope this ingredient list will make label-reading easier than ever, for both new and experienced GF shoppers!

Ingredients that are Safe for a Gluten Free Diet

Agar-Agar

Alcohol, Distilled

Algin

Annatto

Arabic Gum

Artifical Colors

Artificial Flavoring

Asorbic Acid

Aspartame

Beta Carotene

BHA

BHT

Calcium Disodium EDTA

Caprylic Acid

Caramel Color

Carboxymethylcellulose

Carnauba Wax

Carob Bean

Carrageenan

Casein

Cellulose Gum

Citric Acid

Corn Gluten

Corn Syrup

Corn Syrup Solids

Cornstarch

Cream of Tartar

Dextrose

Flax

Fructose

Fumaric Acid

Gelatin

Glucose

Glucose Syrup

Glutamic Acid

Glutinous Rice

Glycerides

Glycol

Guar Gum

Gum Arabic

Hydrolyzed Corn Protein

Hydrolyzed Soy Protein

Inulin

Invert Sugar

Lactic Acid

Lactose

Lecithin

Malic Acid

Maltitol

Maltodextrin

Maltose

Mannitol

Molasses

Mono and Diglycerides

Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)

Natural Colors

Natural Flavors

Polysorbates

Psyllium

Rennet

Rice Malt

Rum

Saccharin

Silicon Dioxide

Sodium Benzoate

Sodium Nitrate

Sodium Nitrite

Sodium Sulphite

Sorbate

Sorbic Acid

Sorbitol

Starch (on labels, this refers to cornstarch)

Stevia

Sucralose

Sucrose

Sulfites

Tartaric Acid

Vanila Extract

Vanilla Flavoring

Vanillin

Vinegar (all EXCEPT malt)

Vodka

Whey

Wine

Xanthan Gum

Xylitol

Yeast (all EXCEPT brewer’s yeast)

Ingredients that are NOT Safe for a Gluten Free Diet

Beer

Bulgur

Couscous

Dextrimaltose

Durum

Einkorn

Farina

Graham Flour

Hydrolized Wheat Protein

Kamut

Malt (e.g. malt extract, malt flavoring, malt vinegar)

Matzo (matzoh)

Seitan

Semolina

Soy Suace

Spelt

Tabbouleh

Triticale

Wheat Bran

Wheat Germ

Ingredients that will vary by manufacturer and need to be checked

Baking Powder

Dextrins

Mustard Flour

Rice Syrup

This ingredient list was created in collaboration with Shelley Case, B.Sc., RD, registered dietitian and author of Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide. She is a member of the medical advisory board of the Celiac Disease Foundation and Gluten Intolerance Group. For more in-depth information about the gluten-free diet, ingredients, labeling laws and healthy eating, please visit www.glutenfreediet.ca.